Presidents and Deans

Jonathan Dickinson
"Jonathan Dickinson" (1688–1747), President (1747). Edward Ludlow Mooney, American, 1813–1887. Oil on canvas. Princeton University, gift of the artist. Photo: Bruce M. White

Princeton's academic and administrative leaders have been prime molders of the institution since its founding, shaping its distinctive liberal arts and sciences curriculum. Princeton has had 20 presidents. Princeton's first president was Jonathan Dickinson in 1747; the 20th president, Christopher L. Eisgruber '83 took office July 1, 2013.

The Office of the Provost was established in 1966. As Princeton's second-ranking official, the provost serves as the president's general deputy and, in the absence of the president, as the University's senior officer.

The office of dean came into being in 1883 with the Dean of the Faculty, followed by Dean of the Graduate School in 1901 and the Dean of the College in 1909. Today there are 10 different dean's offices, supporting all aspects of University life.